Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Cymbal Bowl, hand crafted from a drum cymbal, by Benjamin Black Goldsmiths

I’ve always been surrounded by music…and a little bit obsessed with it, so creating a cymbal bowl seemed like the perfect fit.

I like the idea of transforming a functional object i.e. a drum cymbal – and giving it a completely different operational purpose i.e. a bowl.

The creative process is loud and long.  I use a ‘hammering’ technique in ten minute bouts – the physical nature of the work means I am forced to take regular breaks.  Luckily my workshop is at home…and close to the kettle (I’m not sure what the neighbours think though).

It is an arduous process, but well worth the expended time (each bowl takes about 10 hours of hammering), and the satisfaction of seeing my finished work in pride of place at Interiors 37 here in Nelson.

I hope to see them enjoyed by a few more homes, and fellow music lovers who can appreciate a good beat…

Benjamin

The Cymbal Bowl, hand crafted from a drum cymbal, by Benjamin Black Goldsmiths

