Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When I think of Baroque the first thing that comes to my mind is one of the iconic composer’s of the period – such as Johann Sebastian Bach.  I can’t get enough of that name – how could anyone with that name be anything other than cool?

Baroque also evokes images of over-sized wigs, men in tights, and of course Dolce & Gabbana’s 2012 fall collection – a delectable assortment of brilliant prints that caught the attention of every fashion conscious head on the planet.

Dolce & Gabbana Fall/Winter Collection 2012

Dolce & Gabbana Fall/Winter Collection 2012.

However my favourite item from the era of decadence (at least as I imagine it) is the mask.  I went to a wedding yesterday, and was reminded of the mystery and enchantment of this aristocratic accessory, when we were gifted one as a ‘favour’.

Baroque inspired mask - the next project for Benjamin Black Goldsmiths?

Baroque inspired mask – the next project for Benjamin Black Goldsmiths?

So, masks are the topic of discussion today, and just might be the source of inspiration for my next project.  The Benjamin Black mask, now that has a nice ring to it…with the masquerade ball to match of course, now there’s an even better idea!

– Benjamin

