Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There is something very vintage about the checkerboard cut, so when I happened upon two checkerboard cut garnets it was love at first sight.

I knew I had to find a home for them…and so came the inspiration for my latest earrings.

The checkerboard cut is a technique where the stone is cut into a multitude of square facets, displaying a ‘checkerboard’ effect of light and dark squares when moved in the light.

Garnet checkerboard cut earrings by Benjamin Black Goldsmiths

Garnet checkerboard cut earrings, set in 9ct yellow gold – by Benjamin Black Goldsmiths.

I set these beautiful deep red garnets in 9ct yellow gold, with classic shepherd hooks.

Although the setting is contemporary, they have a distinctly antique flavour that will stand the test of time – like all great jewellery should.

I would love to know what your favourite cut is, and why?

With so many options available, it would be great to hear your thoughts.

– Benjamin

