Tags

, , , ,

Tired of the traditional methods of jewellery presentation I decided to try something a little different.

With a very exciting project coming up (yes you will be the first to know, I promise!), I wanted to create something unique for housing and displaying my sample designs in the meantime.

I came up with the idea of overhauling a vintage suitcase which retained it’s authentic ‘oldness’ on the outside, but was refurbished with practical compartments on the inside, and presented in a sleek and contemporary way.

I found this amazing old suitcase at a local second-hand store.  If you live in Nelson, head along to Black Cat Vintage in Stoke – it’s one of many I frequent often (and probably way too much).

Suitcase1

 

I ripped out the inside and created a mahogany frame for the foundation with dividers to neatly hold my ring sizing equipment and such like.  I made jewellery boxes (also from mahogany), then sourced some beautiful brass which I used to create concertina hinges, so that the boxes could be pulled out from within the interior of the suitcase.

I also lined the inside with new fabric and created a silver crest of the Benjamin Black logo as a centrepiece.

Here’s the finished product!

Jewellery Display Suitcase by Benjamin Black Goldsmiths

