Tags

, , , ,

When it comes to designing a new piece, whether it’s for the store or for a customer, it is always so rewarding being able to see the idea take form.

I have had the pleasure of creating a one-of-a-kind pendant for a lovely customer over the last few weeks. From her initial enquiry to the day I said goodbye, each step has been wonderful.

To begin I researched to find some images to help reflect how the customer wanted her pendant to look. When all was checked off and I felt happy with what I had found, I sat down to start the carving.

The first step involved a large piece of wax of which I roughly cut to the desired basic shape; it was then intricately carved with an engraving tool to a slow and pedantic perfection.

Bald Eagle Creation

I kept in constant contact with the customer throughout this process to make sure that it was looking exactly how she wanted it to.

Bald Eagle Wax Carving

Bald Eagle Wax Carving

After confirmation that all was well the eagle was cast into 18ct gold. The gold was then sanded and polished and the wings were engraved with their finer details.

Bald Eagle Wax Carving

With the eagle and salmon looking stunning, I set the black diamond in the place of the eye and attached the chain. The final goodbyes were said and I sent it away to fly home.

Bald Eagle Wax Carving

She decided to call him Spirit.

